Jones named 2009-2010 SAC Coach of the Year

Whitson and Roper named to postseason All-SAC team

ROCK HILL, SC – Brevard College Men’s Basketball Head Coach Michael Jones was named the 2009-2010 South Atlantic Coach of the Year, the league announced today. Jones, who guided the Tornados from ninth place in 2008-2009 to a tie for second place will be honored between semifinal games on Saturday afternoon at Catawba Valley Community College.

Jonathan Whitson was named an All-SAC First Team selection after a senior campaign that saw the Clyde, N.C. native finish fifth in the SAC in scoring and second in rebounding, while also sitting among the leaders in several other categories.

Josh Roper joins Whitson on the postseason team as an All-SAC Second Team selection after finishing the season fourth in scoring, second in steals and assists and setting several Brevard single season records including points scored in a season and assists in a season.

Tusculum College senior guard Kyle Moore, who led the conference in scoring at 24.9 points per game was named the 2009-10 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year.

Moore wins the award for the second year in a row. He helped lead the Pioneers to a tie for second place in the league standings at 10-6 and a 16-12 overall record. He led the conference for the second year in a row with 112 made 3-pointers, breaking the conference record he had previously set last year. He finishes as the SAC’s all-time leader in made 3-pointers with 306. His scoring average of 24.9 points per game ranks second nationally and ranks second in SAC history.

Wingate University’s Odell Turner, who averaged 11.9 points and was fifth in the league in rebounding with seven rebounds per game, was named the Men’s Freshman of the Year.

The men’s All-Conference First Team are: Jonathan Whitson, Brevard; Antonio Houston, Catawba College; D.J. Blackmon, Lenoir-Rhyne; D’Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial University; and Danny Sanders, Mars Hill College.

The men’s All-Conference Second Team consists of: Josh Roper, Brevard; Jordan Dixon, Carson-Newman College; Rob Fields, Catawba; Donald Rutherford, Catawba; Stoney Polite, Mars Hill; and Jamie Vaughn, Wingate.

Joining Turner on the men’s All-Freshman Team are: Stephen Coles, Catawba; Ryan Barnes, Newberry; Paidrick Matilus, Wingate; and Quan Alexander, Wingate.
Mars Hill’s Jarred Pickering was named SAC Scholar-Athlete for men’s basketball.

The 2010 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference men’s and women’s basketball semifinals are Saturday at Catawba Valley Community College in Hickory, N.C. The men’s award winners will be recognized after the first contest between Catawba and Lincoln Memorial on Saturday, while the women’s award winners will be recognized after 5:30 p.m. game between Lenoir-Rhyne and Tusculum.

The championship games are set for Sunday. The men’s and women’s tournament winner receives an automatic bid into the NCAA Division II National Championship Tournament.


Jonathan Whitson, Brevard
Antonio Houston, Catawba
D.J. Blackmon , Lenoir-Rhyne
D’Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial
Danny Sanders, Mars Hill
Kyle Moore, Tusculum

Josh Roper, Brevard

Jordan Dixon, Carson-Newman
Rob Fields, Catawba
Donald Rutherford, Catawba
Stoney Polite, Mars Hill
Jamie Vaughn, Wingate

Stephen Coles, Catawba
Ryan Barnes, Newberry
Quan Alexander, Wingate
Paidrick Matilus, Wingate
Odell Turner, Wingate

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Jones, Brevard
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kyle Moore, Tusculum
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Odell Turner, Wingate
SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Jarred Pickering, Mars Hill

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube