Roper named to 2010-2011 All-SAC First Team

Jordan also recognized as SAC's leading rebounder

Rock Hill, S.C. - Josh Roper was selected to the All-South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball First Team, as announced by the league office this afternoon.

Roper finished up his senior season at Brevard leading the SAC in scoring with 21.2 points per game and in steals with 2.56 per game and was a two-time South Atlantic Conference Player of the Week this year. Roper also dots the BC record book, sitting in the top ten in multiple single game, single season and career records in various categories including: points, points per game, field goals, field goal attempts, field goal percentage, free throws, free throw attempts, free throw percentage, three-pointers made, three-pointers attempted, assists and steals.

Senior forward Josh Jordan was also recognized by the conference office after leading the SAC in rebounding, averaging 8.9 rebounds per game. Jordan ended up the season with six double-doubles to his credit and also finishes in the BC record book, finishing in the top ten in the single season leaders in rebounding, having breached this elite group in both offensive and defensive rebounds in a season, as well as total rebounds in a season.

Seniors Donald Hudson and Whitney Galloway were also recognized for the contributions to the program with the senior awards and all four seniors leave the Tornados as part of the legacy of the first team to win a South Atlantic Conference Championship and reach the NCAA Regional tournament.

Lincoln Memorial University junior forward Desmond Johnson, who helped lead the Railsplitters to the conference championship as one of the league’s top scorers and rebounders was named the 2010-11 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, the league announced today.

Johnson ranked eighth in the league in scoring at 15.5 points per game and was second in rebounding at 8.8 boards per game. He made 63.8 percent of his field goals, also second in the league. He was a key player for the Railsplitters, who are 25-2 overall and ranked 12th nationally.

Catawba College’s Keon Moore was named the Men’s Freshman of the Year. Moore averaged 16.8 points, sixth-best in the conference, and made 55 3-pointers, also sixth-best in the league.

Lincoln Memorial coach Josh Schertz, who guided the Railsplitters to their first SAC championship, was named Men’s Coach of the Year.

Joining Johnson on the men’s All-Conference First Team are: Brandon Young, Anderson University; Josh Roper, Brevard; Dominick Reid, Catawba; D'Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial; and Odell Turner, Wingate.

The men’s All-Conference Second Team consists of: Kevis Cornwell, Anderson; Sammy Emile, Mars Hill; Dion Malachi, Mars Hill; Tony Davis, Newberry; Robert Troutman, Tusculum; and Jaime Vaughn, Wingate.

Joining Moore on the men’s All-Freshman Team are: Denzail Jones, Anderson; Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman; Allan Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne; and Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial.

Anderson’s Nick Trull was named SAC Scholar-Athlete for men’s basketball.

Trull is a junior majoring in kinesiology and carries a 3.94 GPA. He averaged 9.6 points this season and was second on the team with 45 three-pointers and made better than 88 percent of his free throws. He was named to the Capital One Academic All-District Three team and is a member of the Chi Sigma Alpha national honor society. Trull serves as the men’s basketball representative on the Anderson Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and volunteers his time as a coach for a youth basketball team. He is a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, participated in a clean-up campaign for Anderson public parks and serves a camp counselor at the Hickory Grove Baptist Church summer camp.

The 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference men’s and women’s basketball semifinals are Saturday at Catawba Valley Community College in Hickory, N.C. The women’s award winners will be recognized after the Noon contest between Tusculum and Newberry on Saturday, while the men’s award winners will be recognized after 5:30 p.m. game between Lincoln Memorial and Tusculum.

The championship games are set for Sunday. The men’s and women’s tournament winner receives an automatic bid into the NCAA Division II National Championship Tournament.

Brandon Young, Anderson
Josh Roper, Brevard
Dominick Reid, Catawba
D'Mario Curry , Lincoln Memorial
Desmond Johnson, Lincoln Memorial
Odell Turner, Wingate

Kevis Cornwell, Anderson
Sammy Emile, Mars Hill
Dion Malachi, Mars Hill
Tony Davis, Newberry
Robert Troutman, Tusculum
Jaime Vaughn, Wingate

Denzail Jones, Anderson
Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman
Keon Moore, Catawba
Allan Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial

COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Desmond Johnson, Lincoln Memorial
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Keon Moore, Catawba
SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Nick Trull, Anderson

The SAC Statistical Champion Award recognizes those individuals and teams that have finished the regular season as SAC leaders in various overall statistical categories. Individual leaders must have participated in 75 percent of the team’s games.

Points Per Game – Josh Roper, Brevard, 21.2
Rebounds Per Game – Josh Jordan, Brevard, 8.9
Field Goal Percentage - Taylor Shugart, Anderson, .651
Assists Per Game - Bradley Tumer, Carson-Newman, 6.24
Steals Per Game – Josh Roper, Brevard, 2.56
3-Point Field Goal Percentage - Cam Carden, Lincoln Memorial, .453
3-Pointers Per Game – Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman, 2.81
Blocked Shots Per Game – Dion Malachi, Mars Hill, 2.88
Free Throw Percentage - Rob Troutman, Tusculum, .848
Assist-To-Turnover Ratio - Dominick Reid, Catawba, 1.67

Team Scoring Offense – Newberry College, 85.9
Team Field Goal Percentage – Lincoln Memorial University, .500
Team Field Goal Percentage Defense – Lincoln Memorial University, .387
Team Steals – Newberry College, 12.69
Team Assists – Lincoln Memorial University, 15.65
Team Rebounding – Newberry College, 43.6
Team Blocked Shots – Mars Hill College, 5.23
Team 3-Point Field Goal Percentage – Wingate University, .392
Team Scoring Defense – Tusculum College, 64.8
Team Free Throw Percentage – Tusculum College, .779
Team Assist-to-Turnover Ratio – Lincoln Memorial University, 1.00

Anderson University
John Britton
Kevis Cornwell
Andrew Driver
Oskars Ernsteins
Brandon Young

Brevard College
Josh Roper
Josh Jordan
Donald Hudson
Whitney Galloway

Carson Newman College
Erwin Staten
Brandon Evans

Catawba College
Dominick Reid
Trey Shoemaker

Lenoir-Rhyne University
Nathaniel Shaw

Lincoln Memorial University
D’Mario Curry
Kierre Jordan
Sheldon Oliver

Mars Hill College
Dion Malachi
Barry Rice
Julian Mack

Newberry College
Tony Davis
Danny Huffor
Ray Robinson
Charles Ndoloum

Tusculum College
Rob Troutman

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube