Watkins wins the South Atlantic Conference regular season steals title

She becomes first BC Women's Basketball player to win a SAC statistical title

Rock Hill, S.C. - Micheala Watkins won the South Atlantic Conference regular season steals title, as announced by the conference office on Friday afternoon.

The sophomore guard from Forest City, N.C. made an immediate impact in her first season with the Tornados, finishing second on the team in scoring with 11.6 points per game and led the team in assists with 2.71 per game. She also led the South Atlantic Conference, averaging 2.68 steals per game and set a BC single game record with 10 steals on November 20th against St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

The conference office also recognized the Tornados four seniors, Amber Roberts, Micah LaJoie, Brianna Worley and Amanda Whitaker, for their contributions to the program and they leave behind in their legacy, the first Food Lion South Atlantic Conference tournament bid in program history.

Tusculum senior guard Jasmine Gunn, who led the conference in scoring and guided the Pioneers to the conference championship, was named the 2010-11 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Basketball Players of the Year.

Gunn repeats at Player of the Year. This season, she helped lead the Pioneers to their third conference title in the past four years. She averaged a league-best 19.8 points per game, which ranks 12th nationally. She was fourth in the conference in assists at 3.35 per game and ninth in steals at 1.77 per game. She is the South Atlantic Conference all-time leader in free throws made and attempted.

Carson-Newman College's Shannon Depew was named the Women’s Freshman of the Year. In her rookie season, Depew averaged 9.7 points and 7.2 rebounds and led the conference with 2.07 blocked shots per game.

Lenoir-Rhyne University coach Todd Starkey, was named the Women’s Coach of the Year for the third year in a row. This season, Starkey guided a very young team to an 11-7 conference record and 14-13 overall, as well as a third-place finish after being picked to finish seventh in the preseason poll.

Joining Gunn on the women’s All-Conference First Team are: Mandy Mendenhall , Carson-Newman; Dana Hicks, Catawba; Cameron Sealey, Lenoir-Rhyne; Brittini Young, Mars Hill; Helen McKinney, Newberry; and Kurie Washington, Wingate. The first team has seven players because of a tie for the final spot.

The women’s All-Conference Second Team consists of: Ashley Abed, Anderson; Zoriah Williams, Carson-Newman; Milica Ivanovic, Catawba; Taylor Deal, Mars Hill; and Catherine Hintz, Tusculum.

Joining Depew on the women’s All-Freshman team are: Whitney Brinkley, Lenoir-Rhyne; Tyler Carlson, Mars Hill; Ellie Gleeson, Newberry; and Janitsha Williams, Wingate.

Mars Hill’s Young was named the SAC Scholar-Athlete for women’s basketball, while

Young is a senior guard and averaged 17.6 points per game, fifth-best in the conference, this season. She led the conference in scoring as a sophomore and junior. She led the conference this year in three-point percentage, and was second in assists and free-throw percentage and is a three-time All-Conference selection. In the classroom, Young has a 3.77 GPA, majoring in business with minors in accounting and Spanish. She is a member of the business honors club and was named to the Capital One Academic All-District Women's Basketball District III College Division team. Young is extremely active on the campus. She is currently the vice president of the Mars Hill Student-Athlete Advisory Committee for the second year. This group has been a part in raising over $7,000 for the Make a Wish foundation, the Kay Yow Cancer Foundation, a local family, and the Haiti relief fund. She is also a student ambassador for Mar Hill College and serves as president of that group. She also served as an intern in the president’s office at Mars Hill.

The 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference men’s and women’s basketball semifinals are Saturday at Catawba Valley Community College in Hickory, N.C. The women’s award winners will be recognized after the Noon contest between Tusculum and Newberry on Saturday, while the men’s award winners will be recognized after 5:30 p.m. game between Lincoln Memorial and Tusculum.

The championship games are set for Sunday. The men’s and women’s tournament winner receives an automatic bid into the NCAA Division II National Championship Tournament.

Mandy Mendenhall, Carson-Newman
Dana Hicks, Catawba
Cameron Sealey, Lenoir-Rhyne
Brittini Young, Mars Hill
Helen McKinney, Newberry
Jasmine Gunn, Tusculum
Kurie Washington, Wingate

Ashley Abed, Anderson
Zoriah Williams, Carson-Newman
Milica Ivanovic, Catawba
Taylor Deal, Mars Hill
Catherine Hintz, Tusculum

Shannon Depew, Carson-Newman
Whitney Brinkley, Lenoir-Rhyne
Tyler Carlson, Mars Hill
Ellie Gleeson, Newberry
Janitsha Williams, Wingate

COACH OF THE YEAR: Todd Starkey, Lenoir-Rhyne
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jasmine Gunn, Tusculum
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Shannon Depew, Carson-Newman
SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Brittini Young, Mars Hill

The SAC Statistical Champion Award recognizes those individuals and teams that have finished the regular season as SAC leaders in various overall statistical categories. Individual leaders must have participated in 75 percent of the team’s games.

Points Per Game – Jasmine Gunn, Tusculum, 19.8
Rebounds Per Game – Dana Hicks, Catawba, 11.4
Field Goal Percentage – Staci Hicks, Tusculum, .558
Assists Per Game - Jessica Bearzatto, Newberry, 5.15
Steals Per Game - Micheala Watkins, Brevard, 2.68
3-Point Field Goal Percentage - Brittini Young, Mars Hill, .438
3-Pointers Per Game - Helen McKinney, Newberry, 2.69
Blocked Shots Per Game - Shannon Depew, Carson-Newman College, 2.07
Free Throw Percentage - Ashley Abed, Anderson, .890
Assist-to-Turnover Ratio - Jessica Bearzatto, Newberry, 2.48

Team Scoring Offense – Mars Hill College, 74.8
Team Field Goal Percentage – Lincoln Memorial University, .417
Team Field Goal Percentage Defense - Wingate University, .370
Team 3-Point Field Goal Percentage – Wingate University, .376
Team Assists – Mars Hill College, 14.27
Team Steals – Lincoln Memorial University, 10.62
Team Scoring Defense – Tusculum College, 60.1
Team Rebounding – Catawba College, 42.7
Team Free Throw Percentage – Wingate University, .759
Team Blocked Shots – Carson-Newman College, 3.93
Team Assist-to-Turnover Ratio – Newberry College, 0.81

Anderson University
Ashley Abed
Alexa Neal

Brevard College
Micah LaJoie
Amber Roberts
Amanda Whitaker
Brianna Worley

Carson Newman College
Katlin Moore
Amber Blackwell
Mandy Mendenhall

Catawba College
Jennifer Dameron
Anna Dellapenta
Milica Ivanovic
Kisha Long

Lenoir-Rhyne University
Ashley Pearson

Lincoln Memorial University
LaChelle Hyatt
Whitney Holmes

Mars Hill College
Brittini Young

Newberry College
Jessica Bearzatto
Helen McKinney
Leanne Watson
Briana Johnson

Tusculum College
Jasmine Gunn
Jasmine Parker
Brittni Oliver
Catherine Hintz

Wingate University
Cierra Brooks

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube