Cowie and Shaeffer take top honors at the BC Athletic Award Ceremony

Women's Basketball wins the 2011 Champs Cup Challenge

Brevard, N.C. - The Brevard College Athletic Department celebrated its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony Monday evening as the student-athletes of the 18 BC varsity sports as well as friends, family, members of the Tornado Club and Community and the BC faculty and staff met to acknowledge the accomplishments of the Brevard College teams and students for the 2010-2011athletic seasons.

Headlining the list of award winners was the 2011 Male and Female Athletes of the Year in Tristan Cowie and Lindsay Shaeffer and the 2011 Senior GPA award winner, also Lindsay Shaeffer. Other awards given out at the ceremony included the Student-Athlete Honor Roll and the team individual awards.

This was the first time Cowie has won the BC Male Athlete of the Year. Cowie was the 2010 USA Cycling Fall Mountain Bike Omnium National Champion in guiding the Tornados to their second consecutive Fall Mountain Bike National Championship.

Cowie won his first national championship back in 2008, taking the title in the men’s cross country event and followed up with the short track title in the same year. The senior followed up this season with his individual omnium title, finishing as the silver medalist in the cross country and bronze in the short track to give the Tornados their second consecutive omnium title after Johanne Tuttle won the women’s championship last year.

Shaeffer wins the award for the second time in her illustrious career with the Tornados, having taken the award her sophomore season back in 2008.

The senior from Perryburg, Ohio went 14-8, 6-2 in the conference at no. 1 singles and 14-7, 6-3 in the conference at no. 1 doubles, winning six straight singles matches during the season. Eleven of her 14 victories were in straight sets and she became the first BC student-athlete to be named to the All-SAC First Team for three straight years. Shaeffer also led the team to their third consecutive Food Lion SAC tournament semifinals, and finishes her career as the most decorated female tennis player in BC history.

Shaeffer also received the Senior GPA award, having compiled a cumulative 3.99 GPA during her time at Brevard College and she was influential in the women’s tennis team receiving the Overall Team GPA award from the BC Athletic Department.

The Awards Ceremony also included special recognition of Dr. Drew Van Horn, the President of Brevard College for his time and efforts in support of the BC Athletic Department during his eight and a half years’ service with Brevard College. The Tornados also recognized former BC Trustee and devout Tornados enthusiast Brian Johnson with a special media presentation with quotes from several Brevard student-athletes. The inaugural "Brian Johnson Team Champion Award", presented annually to a BC supporter who embodies the dedication, passion and devout commitment to the student-athletes as demonstrated by Brian Johnson, was presented to his wife, Betty Johnson.

Other key awards given out were the Champs Cup Challenge awards, with Women’s Basketball taking home this year’s Champs Cup with 404 points.

The full list of award winners:
Baseball –
Randy O’Dell (MVP), Jacob White & Ron Patterson (Coaches Awards)
Men’s Basketball – Josh Roper (MVP), Drew Schauss (Most Improved), Josh Jordan (Coaches Award)
Women’s Basketball – Micheala Watkins (MVP), Lindsay Brendle (Most Improved), Asheley Watkins (Coaches Award)
Cheerleading – Ki’era Gash (MVP), Alexis Brigman (Most Improved), Mary Beth Criser (Coaches Award)
Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field – Jordan Tager (MVP), Chris Shore (Most Improved), Josh Mower (Coaches Award)
Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field – Angela Canale (MVP), Ariel Muiselaar (Most Improved), Olivia Fawcett (Coaches Award)
Cycling – Tristan Cowie & Morgan Sykes (MVP), Scott Hoffner (Coaches Award)
Football – Kelvin Jeter (MVP), Tyler Fisher (Most Improved), Michael Crumbaker (Coaches Award), Darrell Neely (John McKissick Award)
Men’s Golf – T.J. Hoard (MVP), Michael Stamper (Most Improved), Thomas Rennie (Coaches Award)
Women’s Golf – Alisiya Klochkova (MVP), Rebecca Schoonover (Most Improved)
Men’s Soccer – Niclas Stolt (MVP), Alec Darcey (Most Improved), Patrick Urmson (Coaches Award)
Women’s Soccer – Rachael Laughlin (MVP), Teresa Musick (Most Improved), Nikki Peacock (Coaches Award)
Softball – Chelsi Mallory (Offensive MVP), Martika Elmore (Defensive MVP), Sarah Carlos (Coaches Award)
Men’s Tennis – Scott McCormick (MVP), Jonathon Lavelle (Most Improved), Cole Altizer (Coaches Award)
Women’s Tennis – Lindsay Shaeffer (MVP), Michelle Prata (Most Improved), Claire Dillman (Coaches Award)
Volleyball – Rebecca Schoonover (Team Above Self Award, MVP), Amanda Possidente (Most Improved)

Brevard Award Ceremony Video
Brevard Senior Slide Show

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube