Gist and Klochkova recognized at Annual BC Athletic Award Ceremony

Box receives Seinor GPA award in final event on 2011-2012 BC Athletic Calendar

Brevard, N.C. - The Brevard College Athletic Department celebrated its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony Thursday evening as the student-athletes of the 19 BC varsity sports as well as friends, family, members of the Tornado Club and Community and the BC faculty and staff met to acknowledge the accomplishments of the Brevard College teams and students for the 2011-2012 athletic seasons.

Headlining the list of award winners was the 2012 Male and Female Athletes of the Year in Michael Gist and Alisiya Klochkova and the 2012 Senior GPA award winner, Jordan Box. Other awards given out at the ceremony included the team individual awards, Team GPA banner and Champs Cup.

Gist received Male Athlete of the Year honors after a successful season lining up on the BC Football and Men’s Basketball teams. Gist finished second on the football team in tackles and tied for the team lead in interceptions on the gridiron. His success transferred onto the hardwood as the senior from North Augusta, S.C. set a Brevard Division II record with six blocked shots in a game and played 25 basketball games with the Tornados.

Klochkova received Female Athlete of the Year recognition after her final season with the BC Women’s Golf team and the Cheerleading squad. The senior from Moscow, Russia, took medalist honors at the Montreat Spring Invitational this year and led the Tornados to their first team tournament victory in the same tournament. She was also a leading member on the BC cheer squad, serving as a flier, as well as helping with basing, catching and throwing.

Box earned the Senior GPA award this year, having compiled a cumulative 3.92 grade point average during her four years with the Brevard College women’s soccer team. Her accomplishments in the classroom helped women’s soccer team win the coveted Champs Cup with 549 points this season.

The full list of award winners:
Baseball – Champ Stuart (Best Batting AVG), Bennett Hixson (Best ERA)
Men’s Basketball – Gaither Hendrix (MVP), Darius Moose (Most Improved), Jermichael Tanner (Coaches Award)
Women’s Basketball – Anna Schlobohm (MVP), Holli Flippo (Best Hustle Award), Lindsay Brendle (Best Offensive Player)
Cheerleading – Amanda Metcalf (MVP), Krisma Sellers (Most Dedicated), Ki’era Gash (Coaches Award)
Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field – Jordan Tager (MVP), Josh Mower (MVP)
Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field – Madison Hill (MVP), Heidi Kaartinen (MVP)
Cycling – Lewis Gaffney & Jimmy Schurman (MVP), Brandon Milet (Ultimate Teammate), Caleb Welborn (Warrior Award)
Football – Caleb Campbell (Offensive MVP), Prince Simunyu (Defensive MVP), Christian Lumbu (Most Improved), Jerel Drew (Coaches Award), Adam Cordell (John McKissick Award)
Men’s Golf – Kim Koivu (MVP), Diego Ortiz (Most Improved), Tom Rennie (Coaches Award)
Women’s Golf – Alisiya Klochkova (MVP), Emily Smith (Most Improved), Marlaina Garman (Freshman of the Year)
Men’s Soccer – Alec Darcey (MVP), Alejandro Rivillas (Most Improved), Scott Schuurman (Coaches Award)
Women’s Soccer – Jamie Bundy (MVP), Hannah Graham (Coaches Award), Carolina Anderson (Most Improved)
Softball – Kayla Clemens (MVP), Chelsi Mallory (Coaches Award), Heather Morris (Most Improved)
Men’s Tennis – Sam MacNeil (MVP), Beau Wills ("Star" Award), Jonathon Lavelle (Coaches Award)
Women’s Tennis – Claire Dillman (MVP), Michelle Prata ("Star" Award), Jennifer Nyman (Coaches Award)
Volleyball – Lauren Ashlie Morrison (Offensive MVP), Lindsey Rogers (Defensive MVP), Amanda Possidente (Most Improved)

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube