Gorry and Zaveta Recognized at Annual BC Athletic Award Ceremony

Brevard, N.C.- The Brevard College Athletic Department celebrated its annual Athletic Awards Ceremony Thursday evening as the student-athletes of the 19 BC varsity sports were recognized to acknowledge the accomplishments of the Brevard College teams for the 2012-2013 athletic seasons.

Headlining the list of award winners were the 2013 Male and Female Athletes of the Year in Cypress Gorry and Eric Zaveta, and the 2013 Senior GPA award winner, Katelynne Poole.

Gorry received Male Athlete of the Year honors after helping BC cycling to a pair of Division II National Championships in Mountain Biking and Cyclo-cross. The freshman from Payson, Arizona won Individual National Championships in both the Cross Country and Short Track events at the Mountain Bike National Championship in October. In January at the Cyclo-cross National Championship in Verona, Wisconsin, Gorry finished 6th in the overall omnium.

Zaveta received Female Athlete of the Year recognition after helping BC cycling to a pair of Division II National Championships in Mountain Biking and Cyclo-cross. A native of Erwinna, Pennsylvania, Zaveta finished 3rd in the Women’s Cross Country, Short Track, and Downhill races to earn a 2nd place finish in the Women’s Overall Individual Omnium. Zaveta also captured the Individual Cyclo-cross National Championship to lead Brevard to a Team Cyclo-cross National Championship in Verona, Wisconsin in January.

Poole earned the Senior GPA award this year, having compiled a cumulative 3.915 grade point average during her four years with the Brevard College women’s basketball team.

The full list of award winners:

Baseball – Chad Fisher (Lowest ERA), Aaron Goforth (Best Defensive Fielding Percentage), Champ Stuart (Best Batting AVG)

Men’s Basketball – Dominique Pickett (Offensive MVP), Miles Leathers (Defensive MVP), Wil Collins (Coaches Award)

Women’s Basketball – Tuccoa Brackett (Best Offensive Player), Asheley Watkins (Best Defensive Player), Tempestt Mack (Most Improved Player)

Cheerleading – Melanie Khioukhom (Heart Award), Andrea Muniz (VIP)

Dance– Amber Henson (Team Above Self Award), Molly Penland (Coaches Award)

Men’s Cross Country- Patrick Helmick (Coaches Award)

Women’s Cross Country- Hannah Cook (Coaches Award)

Cycling –Dan Ennis (Mountain Bike MVP), Cypress Gorry (Mountain Bike MVP), Erica Zaveta (Cyclo-cross MVP), Caleb Welborn (Road Cycling MVP), Spencer Lowden (Most Improved), Lewis Gaffney (Best All-Around Rider)

Football – Eric Watts (Offensive MVP), Marvin Lawson (Defensive MVP), Jordan Bookhart (Most Improved), Andre Overholt (MVP), Phillip Curcio (John McKissick Award)

Men’s Golf – Kim Koivu (MVP)

Women’s Golf –Emily Smith (MVP)

Men’s Soccer – Landon Reid (MVP), Agusto Isern (Most Improved), Adam Martin (Coaches Award)

Women’s Soccer – Brittany Webster (MVP), Chantel Azevedo (Coaches Award), Lindsay Pritchard (Most Improved)

Softball – Jamie Hrobak (Rookie of the Year), Kayla Clemens (Defensive MVP), Alyssa Miller (Offensive MVP)

Men’s Tennis – Johannes Kloster (MVP), David Taggart (Coaches Award)

Women’s Tennis – Claire Dillman (MVP), Elise Labus (Coaches Award)

Men’s Track & Field – Jordan Tager (Coaches Award), Josh Mower (Coaches Award)

Women’s Track & Field – Angela Canale (Coaches Award)

Volleyball – Fatima Gharachorloo (Offensive MVP), Sydney Yeomans (Defensive MVP), Kayla Hanus (Tornado Award)

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube