Jones and Rawls both received All-SAC honors.
Jones and Rawls both received All-SAC honors.

Linebackers Jones and Rawls Named To Second-Team All-SAC

Rock Hill, S.C. – The Brevard College Tornados had two players receive post-season honors, as junior linebackers Stanley Jones and Brandon Rawls were both selected to the 2008 All-SAC Defensive Second Team, announced today.

The duo are the first ever Brevard College football players to receive conference post-season awards, as it is the Tornados first full season in the South Atlantic Conference.

Jones (Spartanburg, S.C.), was the anchor of the BC defense, leading the Tornados in tackles all season long.  Jones finished the season with 98 tackles, a team-high.  His 98 stops was second in the conference.  However, his average of 9.8 tackles per game was first in the SAC and placed him in a tie for 24th in the nation among all NCAA Division II schools.  Jones had four games in which he posted double-digit tackles, including collecting BC record 21 total tackles against Lenoir-Rhyne back on September 27.
Fellow junior linebacker Brandon Rawls (Perry, Ga.) also received All-SAC Second Team recognition for his strong season that saw consistent play.  Rawls was third on the team with 62 total tackles, but led the team in tackles for a loss with 5.5 stops behind the line of scrimmage.  Rawls also had a team-high three sacks on the season, a third of the team’s total sacks, from his outside linebacker position.  Rawls, who averaged 6.2 tackles per game, collected a season-high 10 tackles at Mars Hill on October 18.

South Atlantic Conference football co-champion Carson-Newman College led the way with 12 selections, while Tusculum followed closely with 11, on the 2008 SAC All-Conference Football Team.
Tusculum senior quarterback Corey Russell, who threw for 3,513 yards and 31 touchdowns, was named the Offensive Player of the Year.

Newberry senior linebacker Will Newell, who was the leading tackler on a Newberry team that ranked second in total defense, was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Tusculum coach Frankie DeBusk, who guided the Pioneers to the league championship and a first-ever berth into the NCAA Division II playoffs, was named Coach of the Year.

Mars Hill College freshman wide receiver John Brown, who led the team with seven touchdown receptions and led the conference in all-purpose yards, was named Offensive Freshman of the Year.

Catawba College freshman linebacker Lakeem Perry, who led the Indians in tackles in his first season, was named Defensive Freshman of the Year.

Carson-Newman College senior offensive lineman Thomas Battle received the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second year in a row.

Tusculum College tight end Jarrell NeSmith was named the Football Scholar Athlete for the second year in a row. NeSmith is a junior majoring in pre-medicine and carries a 3.83 GPA.

Carson-Newman senior offensive lineman Thomas Battle, who anchored an offensive line that averaged 323 yards rushing per game, received the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.

The head coaches in the conference select the All-Conference teams.

2008 All-SAC Football Teams

First Team – Offense
Quarterback – Corey Russell, Tusculum
Running Back – Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman
Running Back – Jamelle Cuthbertson, Catawba
Running Back – Nelson Woods, Wingate
Wide Receiver – Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
Wide Receiver – Tyrea Allen, Mars Hill
Wide Receiver – Kelton Tindal, Newberry
Wide Receiver – Ryan Tallent, Tusculum
Tight End – Jarrell NeSmith, Tusculum
Offensive Line – Thomas Battle, Carson-Newman
Offensive Line – Terence Crosby, Catawba
Offensive Line – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Line – Marchent Faustin, Newberry
Offensive Line – Danny Partida, Tusculum
Placekicker – Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne
Long Snapper – Jordon Simmons, Lenoir-Rhyne

First Team – Defense
Defensive Line – Darius Wrentz, Carson-Newman
Defensive Line – Melquan Fair, Catawba
Defensive Line – Chris Dowdell, Mars Hill
Defensive Line – David Harris, Newberry
Linebacker – Brian Brown, Carson-Newman
Linebacker – Charles McAfee, Catawba
Linebacker – Will Newell, Newberry
Linebacker – Justin Scott, Tusculum
Defensive Back – Mario Russell, Carson-Newman
Defensive Back – Deshon Nesbitt, Mars Hill
Defensive Back – Kamaal McIlwain, Newberry
Defensive Back – Jeremy Thompson, Tusculum
Punter – John Gregory, Tusculum
Return Specialist – Patrick Pinchinat, Wingate

Second Team - Offense
Quarterback – Alex Good, Carson-Newman
Running Back – Ricky Harris, Carson-Newman
Running Back – George Washington, Mars Hill
Running Back – Marcus Foster, Tusculum
Wide Receiver – Nate Binder, Tusculum
Wide Receiver – Shawn Barrett, Wingate
Tight End – Ryan Webber, Wingate
Offensive Line – Jeff Weaver, Carson-Newman
Offensive Line – Eric Nelson, Mars Hill
Offensive Line – Josh Sims, Mars Hill
Offensive Line – Matt Holmes, Newberry
Offensive Line – Cam LeGrand, Wingate
Placekicker – Michael Pinkerton, Mars Hill
Long Snapper – Chad Case, Catawba

Second Team – Defense
Defensive Line – Brandon Harmon, Carson-Newman
Defensive Line – Brandon Sutton, Catawba
Defensive Line – Lance Clark, Newberry
Defensive Line – Rynel Butler, Tusculum
Linebacker – Stanley Jones, Brevard
Linebacker – Brandon Rawls, Brevard

Linebacker – Stan Galbraith, Mars Hill
Linebacker – Jarvis Littlejohn, Tusculum
Defensive Back – Jasmon Carpenter, Catawba
Defensive Back – Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Back – Andre Moyd, Newberry
Defensive Back – Tylan Merkerson, Wingate
Punter – Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
Return Specialist – Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
Return Specialist – Barry Tate, Lenoir-Rhyne

Offensive Player Of The Year – Corey Russell, Tusculum
Defensive Player Of The Year – Will Newell, Newberry
Offensive Freshman Of The Year – John Brown, Mars Hill
Defensive Freshman Of The Year – Lakeem Perry, Catawba
Jacobs Blocking Trophy – Thomas Battle, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year – Frankie DeBusk, Tusculum

Statistical Champions

Rushing per game – Jamelle Cuthbertson, Catawba, 114.1
Passing Avg. per game – Corey Russell, Tusculum, 319.4
Total Offense per game – Corey Russell, Tusculum, 375.1
Receptions per game – Ryan Tallent, Tusculum, 6.55
Receiving yards per game – Nate Binder, Tusculum, 81.5
All-Purpose yards per game – John Brown, Mars Hill, 133.8
Interceptions per game – Deshun Nesbitt, Mars Hill, .56
Pass Efficiency – Alex Good, Carson-Newman, 179.0
Punt Return Avg. – Kameron Kranz, Wingate, 7.9
Kick Return Avg. – Patrick Pinchinat, 35.1
Punting Avg. – John Gregory, Tusculum, 44.2
Scoring Avg. (TDs) – Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman, 8.0
Scoring Avg. (Kick) – Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum, 6.6
Field Goal Pct. – Britt Blackmon, Newberry, 66.7
Tackles per game – Stanley Jones, Brevard, 9.8
Sacks per game – Maurice Harris, Mars Hill, .78
Tackles for loss per game – Justin Scott, Tusculum, 1.64

Scoring offense – Carson-Newman, 42.7
Scoring defense – Newberry, 18.3
Passing offense – Tusculum, 326.8
Passing defense – Wingate, 155.9
Rushing offense – Carson-Newman, 323.5
Rushing defense – Catawba, 133.2
Total offense – Carson-Newman, 485.8
Total defense – Catawba, 294.2

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube