RB John Taylor was named to the 2008 Pre-Season All-SAC Seond Team.
RB John Taylor was named to the 2008 Pre-Season All-SAC Seond Team.

Senior John Taylor Named to 2008 Pre-Season All-SAC Second Team

Senior John Taylor Named to 2008 Pre-Season All-SAC Second Team

Rock Hill, S.C. - The Brevard College Tornados, who are entering their first season as full members of the South Atlantic Conference, had senior running back John Taylor named to the 2008 Pre-Season All-SAC Second Team.


Taylor (Richmond, VA) is the first ever Brevard College student-athlete to earn preseason All-SAC first team honors.


In 2007, Taylor rushed 165 times for 766 yards and 11 touchdowns. Taylor led the team in rushing attempts (165), touchdowns (11), rushing yards (766) and all purpose yards (790).


In his home debut in 2007, Taylor had a season-high 218 yards and three touchdowns against Shorter College on September 1.

In 2008, the Tornados will compete as full members in the South Atlantic Conference, making Brevard College eligible for post-season tournaments and awards.



2008 pre-season All-SAC football teams


First Team
QB – Alex Good, Carson-Newman

RB – George Washington, Mars Hill
RB – Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman

RB – Nelson Woods, Wingate

WR – Ryan Tallent, Tusculum
WR – Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
WR – Shawn Barrett, Wingate
TE – Mo Whitten, Carson-Newman

OL – Ross Shaffer, Carson-Newman
OL – Terence Crosby, Catawba
OL – Cam LeGrand, Wingate
OL – Hunter Carnes, Catawba
OL – Jonathan Dailey, Newberry
RS – Antonio Patton, Newberry
PK – Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum


First Team
DL – Darius Wrentz, Carson-Newman
DL – Melquan Fair, Catawba

DL – Brandon Harmon, Carson-Newman

DL – Chris Dowdell, Mars Hill
LB – Justin Scott, Tusculum
LB – Brian Brown, Carson-Newman
LB – Jarvis Littlejohn, Tusculum
LB – Charles McAfee, Catawba
DB – Jeremy Thompson, Tusculum
DB – Temarcus Thompson, Newberry
DB – Denares Waites, Carson-Newman
DB – Otis Ballard, Carson-Newman

P – Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
LS – Jordon Simmons, Lenoir-Rhyne


Second Team
QB – Corey Russell, Tusculum

RB – George Bell, Catawba

RB – John Taylor, Brevard
RB – Chappell Rose, Mars Hill
WR – David Smith, Newberry

WR – Otis Miller, Carson-Newman
WR – Antwan Strong, Catawba
TE – Jarrell NeSmith, Tusculum

OL – Thomas Battle, Carson-Newman
OL – Eric Nelson, Mars Hill
OL – Marchent Faustin, Newberry
OL – Drew Noe, Tusculum
OL – Shelton Nelson, Wingate
RS – Travis Landrum, Catawba
PK – DJ Gill, Catawba


Second Team
DL – Marqus Davis, Catawba
DL – Rynel Butler, Tusculum
DL –  Brandon Kelley, Tusculum
DL – Julian Todd, Mars Hill
LB – Dewayne Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Stan Galbraith, Mars Hill
LB – Will Newell, Newberry
LB – Aaron Plyler, Wingate

DB – Jasmon Carpenter, Catawba
DB – Barry Tate, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Derrell Mills, Newberry
DB – Revel Coffey, Carson-Newman
P – John Gregory, Tusculum
LS – Kyle Davis, Wingate

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share

Brevard CollegeSouth Atlantic ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner
Tornado Sponsors Ingles
RSS FeedE-mail UpdatesFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTube