Wednesday, March 10, 2010


Earns the award for the second straight year after guiding the Tornados to the NCAA Tournament

Morrow, Ga. - Brevard College senior forward Jonathan Whitson has been selected to the Daktronics All-Southeast Region men’s basketball team for the second straight season, after guiding the Tornados to their first berth in the NCAA Tournament as announced Wednesday.

Whitson is a Second Team selection for the second straight year after finishing among the South Atlantic Conference leaders in points, rebounding, field goal percentage, blocks, free throw percentage and minutes played per game.

This award comes one week after Whitson was named a First Team All-South Atlantic Conference selection and was the 2010 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Tournament Most Valuable Player in leading the Tornados men’s basketball team to Brevard College’s first SAC title.

Throughout the year, Whitson achieved the personal milestone of reaching 2,000 points in his career and he currently is the BC career leader in points scored at 2,013, rebounds with 933, field goals made at 781, field goals attempted at 1,500, free throws made with 431, free throws attempted at 594 and will finish his career as the Brevard College all-time scoring average leader, averaging 18.0 points per game as a Tornados.

For the season, Whitson also set several records, including most free throws made and most consecutive free throws made in a row, while also setting the school record for most consecutive free throws made in a game and most field goals made in a game.

As an All-Southeast Region player, Whitson will now be considered for the Daktronics All-America team for Division II, along with fellow SAC players Kyle Moore from Tusculum, Danny Sanders form Mars Hill, D’Mario Curry from Lincoln Memorial, D.J. Blackmon from Lenoir-Rhyne and Antonio Houston from Catawba.

2010 Daktronics All-Southeast Region Team
First Team

Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Kendrick Easley, Mount Olive
Danny Sanders, Mars Hill
Fred Braithwaite, Augusta State
Kyle Moore, Tusculum

Second Team
D'Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial
D.J. Blackmon, Lenoir-Rhyne
Antonio Houston, Catawba
Jonathan Whitson, Brevard
Chris Woods, Pfeiffer