Tuesday, April 19, 2011


McCormick, MacNeil and Wills all named to 2011 All-SAC team

Rock Hill, S.C. - Scott McCormick, Sam MacNeil and Beau Wills were named to the 2011 All-SAC team and MacNeil was selected as the 2011 Men’s Tennis Freshman of the Year as announced by the league office this afternoon.

MacNeil, a freshman from Dunfermline, Scotland, played No. 2 singles, where he went 9-0 in conference play and 14-4 overall, and was named Freshman of the Year, as well as being selected to the All-SAC First Team. He also had an 8-1 conference record in doubles play, and was 13-6 overall, including a 12-3 record with Cole Altizer. He is currently on a 10 match winning streak starting back on March 6th and was the only freshman in the conference to go undefeated on the year.

McCormick, the #20 player in the Southeast Region, was also selected to the All-SAC First Team. The senior from Adelaide, Australia is 17-3 on the season at the no. 1 spot for Coach Nicole Bumgarner, going 7-2 in conference play on the season. McCormick had several notable wins on the season, including straight set victories over Division I opponents from Furman and UNC Asheville and teamed up with Wills to go 15-1 on the season in doubles, 9-0 in the conference on court no. 1. This is the second straight year McCormick was selected to the postseason All-SAC First Team.

Wills, a freshman from New Zealand, finished up the season with a 14-4 record in singles play on court no. 3, going 7-2 overall in conference play to be selected to the All-SAC Second Team.. Wills had a season high nine match winning streak from March 6-March 25 and in doubles play with McCormick, defeated two nationally ranked opponents, winning their last 12 consecutive matches on court no. 1.

Lincoln Memorial University sophomore Philipp Hoffmann, who went undefeated in conference play at No. 1 singles, and Brevard College freshman Sam MacNeil, who was also undefeated in conference play, headline the 2011 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team.

Hoffmann went 9-0 at No. 1 singles for the Railsplitters, and is 16-1 overall on the season, to earn Player of the Year honors. With partner Tom Goossens, they went 8-1 at No. 1 doubles and 14-3 overall. Hoffmann, the 2010 SAC Freshman of the Year, has won 11 consecutive matches and is 35-2 in singles play during his career.

Wingate University head coach Michael Cabana, who guided the Bulldogs to an undefeated conference record and Wingate’s second conference championship in three years, was named Coach of the Year. He wins this award for the second time in his career.

Anderson, Brevard and Wingate led the way with three All-Conference selections each.

Wingate placed all three on the first team.

Wingate University’s Braeden Patchell was the recipient of the Scholar-Athlete Award for men’s tennis. Patchell is a senior majoring in biology, with minors in chemistry and psychology, and carries a 3.724 GPA. He has been named to the Wingate University Dean’s List, President’s List and is a three-time ITA scholar-athlete.

Patchell is a three-time All-Conference selection and has a career singles record of 46-25, including a 27-5 record against conference opponents.

As a service to his community, Patchell volunteers at a local hospital and a cardiac rehabilitation program. He reads to geriatric patients, helps with meal distribution and assists nurses with general housekeeping. Among his duties at the YMCA Cardiac Rehab program, Patchell assists doctors and nurses with taking patients blood pressures before rehab sessions. He monitors and records patients’ progress during various cardio exercises, and assists patients in measuring and recording heart rates during exercise. He has also volunteered with Habitat for Humanity on three projects.

The South Atlantic Conference Scholar-Athlete Award recognizes one student-athlete in each of its 14 sports programs and represents a combination of athletic skill, academic achievement and participation in community service and leadership. The award is selected by the league’s Faculty Athletic Representatives.

First Team
Stan Atema, Anderson
Scott McCormick, Brevard
Sam MacNeil, Brevard
Philipp Hoffmann, Lincoln Memorial
Vinicius Botelho, Newberry
Matthew Lichtenstein, Wingate
Drew Owen, Wingate
Flavio Rathsam, Wingate

Second Team
Deni Mehagic, Anderson
Daniel Gonzalez, Anderson
Beau Wills, Brevard
Trent Slagle, Carson-Newman
Thomas Mitchell, Catawba
Tommy Brennan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Lucas Simm, Mars Hill
Michael Saunders, Newberry

Player of the Year – Philipp Hoffmann, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year – Sam MacNeil, Brevard
Coach of the Year – Michael Cabana, Wingate
Scholar-Athlete – Braeden Patchell, Wingate

Scott McCormick
Shane Apps
Cole Altizer

Chris Acker
Adriano Kira
Trent Slagle

Tom McCormack

Nate Summer

Lincoln Memorial
Andrew Bates

Mars Hill
Carlos Oyaga
Stevan Stankovic
Bradley Bassinger

Fernando Montemurro
Braeden Patchell
Louis Villarroel