Saturday, October 22, 2011


Hill and Canale named to 2011 All-SAC team after Saturday's race

Morristown, Tenn. - Madison Hill became the first Brevard College Cross Country runner to earn Freshman of the Year honors, finishing fourth overall in the 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Championships hosted at Panther Creek State Park Saturday morning as the Tornados finished seventh overall among the women’s teams in the conference race.

Hill crossed the line in 19:38.0 to finish fourth place overall in the event, finishing 1:29 behind SAC Runner of the Year Kate Grieswisch, and was the top finisher among the freshman runners in earning SAC Freshman of the Year honors. Hill was also named to the 2011 All-SAC First Team and the All-SAC Freshman team in her first year with Brevard.

Angela Canale also earned All-SAC honors for the second consecutive season as the sophomore from Medford, N.J. crossed the line 11th overall to receive All-SAC Second Team honors as the Tornados were one of five SAC schools to have multiple athletes receive All-Conference laurels on the day.

Olivia Fawcett continued a stellar sophomore season, crossing the line with a time of 22:32.5 to finish 43rd overall in the event, while freshman Heidi Kaartinen continued her freshman season finishing 49th overall with a time of 23:09.2.

Freshman Ashley Lowe completed the Tornados who took part in the race, placing 74th overall in her first season as a collegiate athlete to round out the group.

The Tornados look ahead now to the 2011 NCAA Southeast Regional, which will be held on Saturday, November 5th in Charlotte, N.C. The runners will take their marks at the starting line at 11 a.m.

2011 Food Lion SAC Championship Team Results
1. Anderson
2. Lenoir-Rhyne
3. Wingate
4. Carson-Newman
5. Mars Hill
6. Lincoln Memorial
7. Brevard
8. Newberry
9. Catawba
10. Tusculum

SAC Runner of the Year: Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Freshman of the Year: Madison Hill, Brevard
SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Coach of the Year: Randy Greer, Anderson

All-Conference First Team
Kate Greiwisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Whitney Bishoff, Anderson
Keeley Wood, Wingate
Madison Hill, Brevard
Sofia Lopez Mimendi, Lincoln Memorial
Ashley Kale, Lenoir-Rhyne
Hannah Reese, Carson-Newman

All-Conference Second Team
Jessica Viscusi, Mars Hill
Hannah Robles, Anderson
Brianna Stevens, Wingate
Angela Canale, Brevard
Cassie Adamson, Mars Hill
Amber Stoerp, Lincoln Memorial
Amanda Johnson, Anderson

All-Freshman Team
Madison Hill, Brevard
Jessica Viscusi, Mars Hill
Sydney Hazel, Anderson
Rebecca Eddy, Newberry
Hanna Ramirez, Lenoir-Rhyne