Friday, April 13, 2012


Tornados freshman golfer finishes second in the SAC in stroke average

Rock Hill, S.C. - Brevard College’s Kim Koivu was selected as the 2012 SAC Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year and was also selected to the All-Conference First Team, as announced by the South Atlantic Conference on Friday afternoon.

"Kim has been an outstanding player and teammate this year. His play has elevated our program to new heights," commented Coach David Nelson. "He's by far the most dedicated player to the game I have ever coached. Hsi work ethic is second to none and his results are well deserved. We celebrate with him all his success this season."

Koivu, who twice shot rounds of 66, finished second in the SAC in adjusted scoring average at 72.78 and became the first BC freshman men’s golfer to earn All-SAC recognition and second to earn First Team recognition, joining Grant Carnie (2009) as members of this elite group.

During the season, Koivu recorded three tournament wins as an individual and established BC records in rounds under par with eight and lowest two-round tournament total at 8-under par. Koivu also established the lowest stroke average (71.93) in the history of BC golf and finished the regular season ranked #12 in the nation in Division II by Golfstat.

"I'm extremely excited to see how Kim will play at the conference tournament," said Nelson. "He's also a leading candidate to get into NCAA regional play as an individual. Right now Kim is playing his best golf, having posted 5 rounds at par or better recently. I anticipate him continuing to help set the bar very high here at Brevard College."

Carson-Newman senior Liam Ashby was named the 2012 SAC Men’s Golf Player of the Year. The announcement of the awards comes in advance of the 2012 Food Lion SAC Golf Championship, which tees off on Monday morning at Rock Barn in Conover, N.C.

Ashby led the conference in adjusted scoring average this season at 72.67.

The Dublin, Ireland native recorded one top-five finish and three top-20 finishes this season in eight events. Ashby’s best round of the year came at the Bearcat Golf Classic, where he fired a second-round 68 – which tied for the third-lowest round score in the conference this season.

He is joined on the All-SAC First Team by teammates Gavin Hay and Jonathan Kim Moss, Wingate’s Brian Denton and Brevard’s Kim Koivu.

Hay’s top round of the 2012 season came at the Bobcat Invitational where he carded a first-round 67, while Denton’s top performance of the year was a 67 in the first round of the Tusculum Invitational.

Lincoln Memorial’s Eric Kennedy, Newberry’s Matthew Campbell, Catawba’s Matt Hardman and Wingate Clifford Blanquicet and Antoine LeSaux made up the All-SAC Second Team.

Wingate’s Corey Iacofano was named the SAC Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to a stellar regular season that included tournament titles at the Honda Columbia Fall Classic, The Myrtle Beach Intercollegiate and the Carolina Sands Intercollegiate. Wingate also finished in the top five in five other events during the 2011-12 season.

SAC Men’s Golf Player of the Year: Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman
SAC Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year: Kim Koivu, Brevard
SAC Men’s Golf Coach of the Year:
Corey Iacofano, Wingate

All-SAC First Team
Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman
Brian Denton, Wingate
Gavin Hay, Carson-Newman
Kim Koivu, Brevard
Jonathan Kim Moss, Carson-Newman

All-SAC Second Team
Clifford Blanquicet, Wingate
Matthew Campbell, Newberry
Matt Hardman, Catawba
Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial
Antoine LeSaux, Wingate