Monday, January 14, 2013


Watts, Ollis, Muscatello and Gruber earn All-Region Honors

Brookfield, Ill.- Brevard College’s Eric Watts, Jordan Ollis, Billy Muscatello, and Michael Gruber have been named to the Don Hansen All-Super Region Two Team on behalf of the Tornados for the 2012 season.

Senior Eric Watts received the honor on both sides of the football, being selected to the First Team Offense as a tight end and to the Second Team Defense as a punter. 

Watts had 24 receptions last season, accounting for 316 yards and three touchdowns while drawing double coverage from opponents for much of the season.

Watts led the South Atlantic Conference in punting average with 43.29 yards per punt this season, which was sixth in all of Division II. Watts pinned opponents inside their own 20-yard line 23 times in 2012, and recorded a season-long punt of 64 yards against Virginia Union on September 8th.

Sophomore fullback Jordan Ollis was named to the Second Team Offense after carrying the ball 129 times for 558 yards and seven touchdowns in 2012. The sophomore also caught four passes for 30 yards.

Junior linebacker Billy Muscatello receives the honor of Second Team Defense after finishing fourth in the South Atlantic Conference with 110 total tackles last season. Muscatello recorded 2.5 tackles for loss, forced a fumble and intercepted a pass on the season.

Sophomore linebacker Michael Gruber was selected to the Third Team Defense after setting a Brevard College single-season record with 117 total tackles, which was second most in the South Atlantic Conference. He made 4.5 tackles for loss, forced a fumble and recorded two interceptions on the season.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.  Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.