Wednesday, March 6, 2013


Rock Hill, S.C.- Brevard College's Tuccoa Brackett has been named the South Atlantic Conference Women’s Basketball Freshman of the Year and an All-SAC Second Team selection, league officials announced Wednesday.

Brackett, a 5-10 forward from Marion, N.C., becomes the first player in program history to earn either SAC Freshman of the Year or All-SAC honors since Brevard joined the conference for the 2008-2009 season.

"This is truly a huge honor, and I am very grateful to be a part of the BC women's basketball program," said Brackett. "I'm very excited to see what the future holds for our team."

Brackett finished  4th in the South Atlantic Conference in both scoring (15.2 ppg) and blocked shots (1.2 bpg) this season, while leading the Tornados in scoring, blocked shots, rebounding (5.6), and field goal percentage (43.3) in 2012-2013.

The McDowell High School product scored in double figures 20 times this season, and notched a season-high 23 points against Newberry on January 23rd and again at Anderson on February 27th. Brackett pulled down a season-high 11 rebounds twice, at Lincoln Memorial on January 16th and at home against the Railsplitters on February 13th. 

"Tuccoa is a special player who exemplifies a model student-athlete and embraces her leadership role here at Brevard College," head coach Shannon Reid said. "I'm looking forward to her growth as a player, as this is only the first of many milestones in her career."

Joining Brackett on the SAC All-Freshman Team are Tatum Burstrom (Carson-Newman), Morgan McGee  (Wingate), Kelsey Espinosa (Mars Hill), and Jordan Hiatt (Lenoir-Rhyne).

On the All-SAC Second Team, Brackett is joined by Chantal Dunbar (Wingate), Armeka Booker (Mars Hill), Breonda Shannon (Anderson), Breaira Barksdale (Tusculum), and Janitsha Williams (Wingate).

The South Atlantic Conference Basketball Awards are selected by the league’s 10 head coaches.
2012-13 SAC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards
All-SAC First Team
Alissa Diaz, Anderson (Sr.)*
Haylee Lepaio, Newberry (So.)*
Samantha Creed, Newberry (So.)
Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne (So.)
Chloe Bully, Catawba (So.)
Antionette McPhail, Catawba (Jr.)
All-SAC Second Team
Chantal Dunbar, Wingate (Jr.)
Armeka Booker, Mars Hill (So.)
Breonda Shannon, Anderson (Sr.)
Breaira Barksdale, Tusculum (Sr.)
Janitsha Williams, Wingate (Jr.)
Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard (Fr.)
SAC All-Freshman Team
Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard
Tatum Burstrom, Carson-Newman
Morgan McGee, Wingate
Kelsey Espinosa, Mars Hill
Jordan Hiatt, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Player of the Year:  Alissa Diaz, Anderson
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard
SAC Coach of the Year:  Jim Brunelli, Anderson