Thursday, June 13, 2013


Rock Hill, S.C. – The Brevard College Tornados placed 62 student-athletes on the 2012-13 South Atlantic Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll, which was released by the league Wednesday.

SAC Tennis Player of the Year Claire Dillman and SAC Cross Country Freshman of the Year Hannah Cook highlighted Brevard's representatives.

806 student-athletes spanning all 10 of the SAC’s member institutions and all 14 of the league’s sponsored sports have been named to the 2012-13 SAC Commissioner’s Honor Roll in recognition of their academic achievements.

To be eligible for inclusion on the honor roll, student-athletes must have lettered in a varsity SAC-sponsored sport and maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or higher throughout the academic year.

“Student-athletes in the SAC excel not just in sport, but in the classroom as well,” said SAC commissioner Patrick Britz.  “I’m very proud of the rigorous academic efforts by each of these honorees.

Leading the 2012-13 SAC Commissioner’s Honor Roll is Lenoir-Rhyne, which had 96 student-athletes make the list.  The Bears were represented by members of all 14 of the conference’s sports.

Just behind L-R are Catawba with 92 selections and Tusculum with 91.  Mars Hill is fourth with 86 student-athletes named to the list, while Newberry had 81 and Carson-Newman had 80.

Completing the honor roll are Anderson with 75 selections, Lincoln Memorial with 74, and Wingate with 69.

The complete list of Brevard College student-athletes on the SAC Commissioner's Honor Roll can be found below:

Nick Blackwood  
Hunter Donaldson  
Jay Schulte  
Alex Bedenbaugh 
Kevin Hamilton 
Troy Marlowe  
Christian Christopoulos  
Alex Litaker

Men's Basketball 
Filip Gujanicic

Women's Basketball  
Hadara Bannister  
Chezney McJunkin
Alyssa Cutshaw  
Candice Fritz  
Katelynne Poole

Men's Cross Country  
Patrick Helmick  
Erik Gibbs
Chris Shore

Women's Cross Country
Hannah Cook  
Casey McDowell  
Angela Canale 
Heid Kaartinen  
Ashley Lowe  
Ariel Muiselaar

Xavier McEachern  
Brad Newton 
Andrew Velazquez 
Blake Wall 
Juan Hicks  
Andre Overholt  
Jack Woerner  
Peter Woerner  
Ethan Woodie

Men's Golf 
Hunter Eddins  
Petter Lehmann  
Kim Koivu  
Diego Ortiz  
Sean Stamper

Women's Golf
Allie Hovis

Men's Soccer  
Pauli Jussila 
Juan Mascaro Jr.   
Garrett Stone
Jami Uuttu 

Women's Soccer
Chantel Azevedo
Althea Dunn
Megan Jenkins
Teresa Musick
Katherine Nickels  
Kelsi Pratt  
Brittany Webster  
Jamie Hrobak 
Allyson Davenport
Alyssa Miller
Brittany Tucker 

Men's Tennis
Rory Northam 

Women's Tennis
Claire Dillman

Megan Clark 
Kortney Conner 
Megan Meyer  
Jamie Atkinson  
Ashley Wilson  
Sydney Yeomans