Koivu Named to All-SAC First Team

Koivu Named to All-SAC First Team

Rock Hill, S.C.-Brevard College student-athlete Kim Koivu has been named a 2013 First Team All-SAC selection for men's golf, the league announced on Thursday.

Koivu posted six top-10 performances this season, and won the individual title at the Irish Creek Intercollegiate. The sophomore finished fourth in the conference in adjusted scoring average at 73.89.

Koivu was a First Team All-SAC selection and the conference's Freshman of the Year in 2012.

Lincoln Memorial senior Jamie Chapman was named the South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year.

Chapman's adjusted scoring average of 73.20 was the best in the SAC, according to results from Golfstat.com. He won October's State Farm Invitational with a final score of five-under par, and also recorded top-10 finishes at the Tusculum Fall Classic, the Spring Kick-Off Intercollegiate, the Tusculum Invitational and the Natural State Classic.

Chapman was an All-SAC Second Team selection in 2010 and 2011, and is only the second men's golfer from LMU ever to win SAC Player of the Year accolades, joining Eric Kennedy in 2010.

Accompanying Koivu and Chapman on this season's All-Conference First Team are Newberry senior Chandler Gruenemeier, Wingate senior Brian Denton, Carson-Newman junior Jonathan Kim-Moss and Carson-Newman senior Gavin Hay. Gruenemeier finished second in the conference in adjusted scoring average at 73.63, followed by Denton at 73.81, Koivu at 73.89, and Kim-Moss and Hay - who tied for the final first-team selection - at 73.97.

Denton, Hay and Kim-Moss were all All-Conference First Team honorees last season, and Hay made the First Team in 2011 as well.
Denton and Hay had three top-10 performances this season while Gruenemeier and Kim-Moss recorded two. Denton placed first at the J. Ralph Hargett Memorial.
Newberry sophomore Jon Weiss, Tusculum freshman Nick Forsberg and Lincoln Memorial freshman Connor Froning each earned selections to the 2013 All-SAC Second Team, as did Wingate's Tyler Stone, the conference's Freshman of the Year.
LMU's Travis Muncy was named the SAC Coach of the Year for the first time in his career after leading his team to a pair of tournament titles and a total of 11 top-10 finishes at events this season. He becomes the first coach from LMU to earn the award.
Next up for the honorees is the 2013 Food Lion SAC Golf Championship, which gets underway on Sunday in Sevierville, Tennessee.

2013 SAC Men's Golf Awards

SAC Player of the Year: Jamie Chapman, Lincoln Memorial
SAC Freshman of the Year: Brian Denton, Wingate
SAC Coach of the Year: Travis Muncy, Lincoln Memorial

All-Conference First Team
Jamie Chapman, Lincoln Memorial (Sr.)
Chandler Gruenemeier, Newberry (Sr.)
Brian Denton, Wingate (Sr.)
Kim Koivu, Brevard (So.)
Jonathan Kim-Moss, Carson-Newman (Jr.)*
Gavin Hay, Carson-Newman (Sr.)*
* tied for final first-team selection
All-Conference Second Team
Jon Weiss, Newberry (So.)
Tyler Stone, Wingate (Fr.)
Nick Forsberg, Tusculum (Fr.)
Connor Froning, Lincoln Memorial (Fr.)